First Friday in the Art Underground

CATEGORY: Arts

UPCOMING DATES AND TIMES

  • Aug 2, 2019 - Fri 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.
  • Sep 6, 2019 - Fri 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.
  • Oct 4, 2019 - Fri 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.
  • Nov 1, 2019 - Fri 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.
  • Dec 6, 2019 - Fri 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.
  • Jan 3, 2020 - Fri 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.
  • Feb 7, 2020 - Fri 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.
  • Mar 6, 2020 - Fri 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.
  • Apr 3, 2020 - Fri 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.
  • May 1, 2020 - Fri 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.
  • Jun 5, 2020 - Fri 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.
[view more]

 

LOCATION

Crystal City Shops at 2100

Arlington, VA

Get Directions

 

Head to Crystal City on the first Friday of every month for a healthy dose of arts in the Art Underground. 

Gallery Underground Opening Reception

Each month the gallery changes its entire exhibit and presents a new show from its talented members in many forms: paintings, sculpture, glass and ceramic work, jewelry, mixed media and photography. Gallery Underground anchors the visual arts component of Crystal City’s Art Underground, and on "First Fridays" (the first Friday of every month), hosts an art reception free and open to all from 5-7pm.

August 2019 Focus Gallery: Fire.  Earth.  Water.  Air.  These four elements of western culture were believed to be essential to life, and can be found in many ancient religions.  From July 29-Aug 30, come see how artists from the Arlington Artists Alliance interpreted and explored this theme in an exciting new juried show at the Focus Gallery.   Members working in all media were invited to submit works that convey the richness and aesthetic beauty conveyed by nature through the elements.  The show was juried by Nancy Pane Fortwengler, a resident artist at the Torpedo Factory.

Additionally, the featured artist for August in the Main Gallery is Anya Getter, whose whimsical collage/mixed media pieces are inspired by quotes, animals and exotic places. Getter incorporates many found objects and mosaic into her work, resulting in varied textures and surfaces.