Congressional Arts Competition

An Artistic Discovery: The Congressional Art Competition is being showcased in Crystal City at 2011 Crystal Drive.  View pictures of the exhibit here.

Each spring, a nation-wide high school arts competition is sponsored by the Members of the U.S. House of Representatives. The Congressional Art Competition is an opportunity to recognize and encourage the artistic talent in the nation, as well as in each congressional district.

An Artistic Discovery is open to all high school students. The overall winner of each participating district will be displayed for one year in the U.S. Capitol.

The Congressional Art Competition began in 1982 to provide an opportunity for members of Congress to encourage and recognize the artistic talents of their young constituents. Since then, over 650,000 high school students have been involved with the nation-wide competition.


Emelyn Veronica Urritia – “Auto Refracto”
Margeaux DuBeau – “Priscilla”
Erica Taylor – “Pumpkins”
Maya Berenholz – “Hanged”
Sarah Fleetwood – “Monuments”
Samantha Bolt – “Untitled”
Pisethkoma Phat – “Lost in the Jungle”
Grace Montgomery - “Untitled”
Unknown (Krackle) – tag missing
Marvin Roberto Cerno – “Day & Night”
Natalie Michalak - “Untitled”
Eli McMullin – “When I closed my Eyes”
Gabrielle Giacomongeli - “Untitled”
Margaret Lukins – “Reflection”
Grant Hughes - “Untitled”
Victoria Fronberg – “Self-Portrait”
David Luen-Lopez – “David”
Nicholas Hoegberg - “Untitled”
Ernie (Eric) Wu - “Untitled”
Teresa Camthao Dang – “Find a New Way”
Anna Manalo – “Tilted World”
Roxanna Luna - “Untitled”
Michael Vasquez – “Michael”
Bryan Almanza – “Dice”
Ryan Aiken – “Last Man Standing”
Natasha Shepherd - “Untitled”
Seida Fuentes – “Future Machine”
Petey Mainardi - “Untitled”
Maria Come - “Untitled”
Kaylen McNulty – “Feather”
N. Saadaui – (Capitol Building) – tag missing
Xiamara Escobar – “Seida”
Briset Chavez – “Syreena & Briset”
Angela Canton - “Untitled”
Mandie Byrne - “Untitled”
Cochise Morris - “Untitled”
Ginx Hudgins - “Untitled”
John Brennan - “Untitled”
Rachel Movus – “Shutter”
Erica Walborn – “Vitruvian Trevor”
Taylor Heasley – “Abstract Stripes”
Victor Sanchez – “Never Seen Before”
Angie Griffith - “Untitled”
Reggie Hay – “Diesel”
Stephanie Lopez – “Dance of the Seagulls”
Ollie Savisaari – “Leftovers”
Unknown – Abstract Oil Pastels – tag missing
Victoria Trowers – “Amor"
Claire Rea Seiwick - “Untitled”
Unknown – Sunglass T-shirt – tag missing
Tiffany Rervis – “Ocean”
John McGarth - “Untitled”
Bismos Gracia – “Self Portrait”
Mariels Vigil – “Alone"
Unknown – Watercolor of pond/bridge – tag missing
Thomas Miotke – “Wishing well”
Kimberly Davies – “Bear”
John Howell – “The Coast”
Jenny Ko - “Untitled”
Eric Rojas – “Star Dragon”
Kavier Bernabe Urratia – “Royal Blue”
Ariana Ewell – “Fear God”
Josue Crespo-Gomez – “My Journey to Eternity”
Christopher Price Johns – “A House of a Different Color”
Santiago Isbell Metzner – “Circle of Life”
Amir Noorbakhsh – “Tulips by the Mirror”
Jeremy Nusbaum – “Rhythm & Blues”
Carlos Vargas – “Esher y Yo”


2011 Crystal Dr
Arlington, VA, 22202